For most DIYers, I’d start with the DEWALT 20V MAX Impact Driver Kit (DCF787D1): it gives you a familiar battery platform and a ready-to-use setup without pushing you toward a more specialized tool. The Milwaukee 2953-20 is a standout for shoppers already invested in Milwaukee batteries, while the DEWALT DCK240C2 combo adds a drill for projects that need more than driving screws. The main tradeoff is whether you want a complete kit, a flexible bare tool for a battery system you own, or a combo that covers more jobs but costs space and adds tools you may not need. Compactness, speed control, included batteries, and platform compatibility can matter more for home projects than headline torque claims. Read on for my full comparison of 13 cordless impact drivers and combo kits for DIY.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
The DEWALT DCF787D1 is the clearest starting point for a DIYer who wants an individual driver kit rather than a tool-only purchase or a two-tool bundle.
Battery ownership changes the best pick: the Milwaukee 2953-20 and DEWALT DCF845B are tool-only options, so they make more sense when you already own compatible batteries and chargers.
Combo kits trade simplicity for range. The CRAFTSMAN and DEWALT drill-and-driver bundles cover both drilling and fastening, but are bulkier purchases than a single impact driver.
Brushless labels alone do not settle the choice. The GoYwato and AVID POWER brushless kits compete on included-kit appeal, while a buyer should also weigh platform support, controls, and what arrives in the box.
Battery and charger details separate ready-to-work kits from bare tools. Check the included battery capacity and whether a charger is supplied before comparing a kit with a tool-only listing.
| cordless impact drivers for DIY | Voltage | Maximum torque | Maximum speed | Chuck |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless | 21V | 2,655 in-lb (300 N·m) | 1,400 rpm | 1/4-inch hex |
| AVID POWER 20V Brushless Cordl | 20V | 2,220 in-lb | 2,600 rpm | 1/4-inch hex |
| Litheli 20V Cordless Impact Dr | 20V | 1,593 in-lb | 2,800 rpm | 1/4-inch hex |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact | 20V MAX | 1,500 in-lb | 2,800 rpm | 1/4-inch |
| GALAX PRO 20V Cordless Impact | 20V | 100 N·m | 2,800 rpm | 1/4-inch hex |
| Milwaukee 2953-20 18V Cordless | — | 2,000 in-lb | 3,900 rpm | 1/4-inch hex |
| GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless | 21 V | 2,655 in-lb | 1,400 rpm listed | 1/4-inch hex |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill a | 20 V | — | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Drill/Driver an | 20 V MAX | — | — | — |
| GoYwato 21V Brushless Drill an | 21 V | — | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3- | 20V | 1,825 in-lbs | 3,400 RPM | 1/4-inch |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless 1/4-Inc | 20V | 1,800 in-lbs | 2,900 RPM | Quick-release; product listing specifies maximum chuck size of 0.5 inches |
| 16.8V Cordless Drill and Impac | 16.8V | — | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit
I’d choose this GoYwato when the goal is to get a broad set of fastening accessories and spare battery capacity in one kit. Its two 4.0Ah batteries offer more stated capacity than the single, smaller batteries supplied with the Litheli and GALAX PRO, which can reduce interruptions during longer DIY sessions. The kit also includes 14 sockets and 10 screwdriver bits, a useful spread for household repairs and assembly jobs. Its 2,655 in-lb torque rating is the highest among these five, though the listed 1,400 rpm maximum speed is lower than the AVID POWER, Litheli, DEWALT, and GALAX PRO figures. Two forward speeds and reverse auto-stop add control, but battery protection and accessory compatibility are not fully specified. I’d favor it for kit completeness over speed or a clearly documented battery ecosystem.
Pros:- Includes two 4.0Ah lithium-ion batteries and a charger.
- Supplies 14 sockets and 10 screwdriver bits alongside a carrying case.
- Lists the highest maximum torque of these five drivers at 2,655 in-lb.
- Reverse auto-stop, an LED light, and a rubber grip support controlled work.
Cons:- Its listed maximum speed of 1,400 rpm is lower than the other four products.
- Battery protection details and accessory compatibility are not fully specified.
Best for: DIYers who want two included batteries and a varied socket-and-bit set for household repairs and occasional automotive fastening.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing high listed rotational speed, detailed battery protection information, or confirmed compatibility with a familiar tool-battery system.
- Voltage:21V
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum torque:2,655 in-lb (300 N·m)
- Maximum speed:1,400 rpm
- Speed settings:2 forward speeds
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Batteries included:2 × 4.0Ah lithium-ion
- Weight:3.62 lb
- Included accessories:Charger, 14 sockets, 10 screwdriver bits, carrying case, user manual
Our verdict“Choose this GoYwato if you value two higher-capacity batteries and a large accessory set more than a high listed speed or clearly documented battery compatibility.”
AVID POWER 20V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch, 2220 in-lb Torque
The AVID POWER is the most compelling pick here for DIYers who expect to drive many fasteners and want to limit hand and arm fatigue. At 2.16 lb, it is lighter than the Litheli and GoYwato, while its listed 2,600 rpm maximum speed outpaces the GoYwato’s 1,400 rpm. The brushless motor, two speed settings, and variable-speed trigger give it a more adaptable feel on jobs ranging from assembly to wood fastening. A reverse-mode brake stop can help keep loosened fasteners from dropping away. The tradeoff is a less complete kit than GoYwato’s: it includes one battery and just four bits and four sockets, and the battery capacity is not stated. I’d pick it for a light, controlled driver, but not for buyers who need runtime clarity or a large accessory collection.
Pros:- At 2.16 lb, it is the lightest of these five listed drivers.
- Brushless motor and two speed settings with variable-speed control.
- Listed maximum speed of 2,600 rpm exceeds the GoYwato’s 1,400 rpm.
- Reverse-mode brake stop and LED work light support more controlled fastening.
Cons:- Battery capacity and expected runtime are not specified.
- The kit includes only four driver bits and four sockets, fewer accessories than the GoYwato kit.
Best for: DIYers who drive lots of screws in furniture, shelving, or wood projects and want a light tool with speed control.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a stated battery capacity, two included batteries, or a larger collection of sockets and bits straight from the case.
- Voltage:20V
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum torque:2,220 in-lb
- Maximum speed:2,600 rpm
- Speed settings:2, with variable-speed control
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Weight:2.16 lb
- Included components:Battery, charger, 4 driver bits, 4 sockets
Our verdict“Pick the AVID POWER for a lightweight, speed-controlled driver, but choose the GoYwato if two batteries and a wider accessory set matter more.”
Litheli 20V Cordless Impact Driver Kit with 2.0Ah Battery
The Litheli makes the most sense for a DIYer already building around the brand’s 20V tools, since its 2.0Ah battery works across Litheli 20V products and can also function as a power bank. That battery flexibility gives it an advantage over the GALAX PRO’s smaller 1.3Ah pack, while the included 20 driver bits and blow-molded case make it ready for common screw-driving tasks. Its three-mode switch and variable-speed trigger offer useful control, and the 2,800 rpm listing is higher than the GoYwato’s. The central drawback is easy to miss: no charger is included. At 3.1 lb, it is also heavier than the AVID POWER, despite its compact design. I’d choose it for ecosystem compatibility, not as the easiest standalone kit to start using.
Pros:- 2.0Ah battery is compatible with Litheli 20V tools and can serve as a power bank.
- Includes 20 driver bits and a blow-molded case.
- Three-mode switch, variable-speed trigger, and LED support controlled work.
- Listed maximum speed of 2,800 rpm is higher than the GoYwato’s 1,400 rpm.
Cons:- Charger is not included, so new buyers may need to purchase or source one separately.
- At 3.1 lb, it is heavier than the AVID POWER’s 2.16 lb listed weight.
- Its 1,593 in-lb maximum torque is lower than the GoYwato and AVID POWER figures.
Best for: Existing Litheli 20V tool owners who can share a charger and want a driver battery that can also serve as a power bank.
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers who need a charger in the box or want the lightest option for overhead work.
- Voltage:20V
- Battery capacity:2.0Ah
- Maximum torque:1,593 in-lb
- Maximum speed:2,800 rpm
- Impact rate:3,000 IPM
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Weight:3.1 lb
- Included accessories:2.0Ah battery, 20 driver bits, blow-molded case
- Charger:Not included
Our verdict“Choose the Litheli if you already own compatible tools or a charger; for a complete standalone kit, the AVID POWER is a more straightforward alternative.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit (DCF787D1)
For a DIYer who already owns DEWALT 20V MAX batteries or expects to add compatible tools, this compact kit is a simpler ecosystem choice than starting with the less-established GoYwato or GALAX PRO systems. It includes a 2Ah battery and charger, so it can also serve as a complete entry point. The listed 2,800 rpm matches the Litheli and GALAX PRO maximum speed, while its 1,500 in-lb torque rating is below the AVID POWER and GoYwato figures. The built-in LED stays on for 20 seconds after the trigger is released, giving a little extra light when repositioning a fastener. The 4.4 lb listed weight is the heaviest here, and the kit provides no driver-bit assortment in the supplied components. I’d put it ahead for battery-system fit, not for low weight or included accessories.
Pros:- Includes a 20V MAX 2Ah lithium-ion battery and charger.
- Listed maximum speed of 2,800 rpm is higher than the GoYwato’s 1,400 rpm.
- LED remains on for 20 seconds after the trigger is released.
- A practical fit for DIYers already using DEWALT 20V MAX batteries.
Cons:- Listed weight of 4.4 lb is the highest among these five products.
- Its 1,500 in-lb maximum torque is below the GoYwato and AVID POWER figures.
- Included components do not list a bit or socket assortment.
Best for: DIYers who own DEWALT 20V MAX tools or want a compact driver kit with a charger from that battery platform.
Not ideal for: Buyers who prioritize low tool weight, high listed torque, or an included assortment of bits and sockets.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Maximum torque:1,500 in-lb
- Maximum speed:2,800 rpm
- Chuck:1/4-inch
- Battery capacity:2Ah
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Weight:4.4 lb
- Included components:Impact driver, 20V MAX 2Ah battery, charger, belt hook
- LED:Stays on for 20 seconds after trigger release
Our verdict“Choose the DEWALT if you want a driver that fits a 20V MAX tool setup; pick the AVID POWER if lower listed weight matters more.”
GALAX PRO 20V Cordless Impact Driver with 1.3 Ah Battery and Charger
The GALAX PRO is the straightforward choice for occasional household jobs where a compact, simple kit matters more than battery capacity or a brushless motor. It includes a 1.3Ah battery, charger, belt clip, and six bits, and the tool-less 1/4-inch hex chuck makes bit changes quick. At 2.3 lb, it is close to the AVID POWER in listed weight, but unlike that model its motor type is not specified and its 100 N·m torque is well below the GoYwato and AVID POWER ratings. The variable-speed trigger helps tailor speed to the task, though the small battery may limit runtime during extended work. I’d keep it in the running for small repairs and occasional assembly, while frequent users should favor the AVID POWER or GoYwato for their stronger stated performance or larger battery provision.
Pros:- Includes a 1.3Ah battery, charger, belt clip, and six screwdriver bits.
- Variable-speed trigger allows speed adjustment while driving.
- Tool-less 1/4-inch hex chuck supports quick bit changes.
- At 2.3 lb, it is lighter than the listed Litheli and DEWALT kits.
Cons:- The 1.3Ah battery capacity may limit runtime during longer jobs.
- Its 100 N·m maximum torque is lower than the GoYwato and AVID POWER figures.
- Motor type is not specified, unlike the brushless AVID POWER and GoYwato.
Best for: Homeowners who need a light driver for occasional furniture assembly, small repairs, and short fastening sessions.
Not ideal for: DIYers tackling frequent, demanding fastening jobs or long work sessions who need more stated torque or greater battery capacity.
- Voltage:20V
- Battery capacity:1.3Ah
- Maximum torque:100 N·m
- Maximum speed:2,800 rpm
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Weight:2.3 lb
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Included components:Battery, charger, belt clip, six screwdriver bits, user manual, warranty card
Our verdict“Choose the GALAX PRO for occasional light-duty repairs with a basic kit included, but step up to the AVID POWER for more demanding or extended DIY work.”
Milwaukee 2953-20 18V Cordless 1/4-Inch Hex Impact Driver (Tool Only)
The Milwaukee 2953-20 is the strongest fit here for DIYers who already own compatible batteries and want a capable standalone impact driver. Its listed 2,000 in-lb of torque, 3,900 rpm maximum speed, and four drive modes give it more speed and adjustment options than the CRAFTSMAN V20 combo’s impact driver, which is listed at 1,460 in-lb and 2,800 rpm. Four modes can help tailor fastening to the job, while the Tri-LED lights brighten the work area and single-handed bit insertion makes bit changes easier. Its 4.47-inch length also helps in tighter spaces. The tradeoff is that this is tool only: batteries and a charger are not included. The listed weight also differs between the description and item details, so I wouldn’t choose it based on a precise weight comparison.
Pros:- Listed 2,000 in-lb torque and up to 3,900 rpm
- Four drive modes provide more control across fastening tasks
- Tri-LED lights and single-handed bit insertion support work in dim or confined areas
- Compact 4.47-inch length
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included
- Listed weight differs between the description and item details
Best for: DIYers who already have compatible Milwaukee batteries and want a compact driver with strong output and multiple drive modes.
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers who need a battery and charger in the box, or shoppers who want a drill included.
- Model:2953-20
- Power source:Battery powered
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Maximum torque:2,000 in-lb
- Maximum speed:3,900 rpm
- Drive modes:4
- Length:4.47 inches
- Weight:2.2 lb in description; 2.5 lb in item details
Our verdict“Choose the Milwaukee if you have compatible batteries and value speed, drive control, and a compact body more than an all-in-one kit.”
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch, Red
The GoYwato 21V impact driver kit is aimed at DIYers who want a ready-to-use fastening set rather than a bare tool. It includes two 4.0Ah batteries, a charger, 14 sockets, 10 screwdriver bits, and a case—more fastening accessories and battery capacity than the CRAFTSMAN V20 combo’s included 2Ah batteries. Its brushless motor is listed at up to 2,655 in-lb of torque, and the reverse automatic stop is intended to keep screws from flying out when backing them off. A rubberized grip and LED help with handling and visibility. The main uncertainty is control: the listing gives a maximum speed of just 1,400 rpm, while also describing low- and high-speed forward modes. I’d favor the Milwaukee 2953-20 if clearly specified speed and multiple drive modes matter more than included accessories.
Pros:- Includes two 4.0Ah batteries and a charger
- Brushless motor listed at up to 2,655 in-lb of torque
- Reverse automatic stop is designed to limit screws flying out
- Includes sockets, screwdriver bits, and a carrying case
Cons:- Listed maximum speed is 1,400 rpm despite references to low- and high-speed modes
- Runtime and charging time are not provided
Best for: DIYers starting without batteries who want one impact driver kit with substantial battery capacity and a broad selection of sockets and bits.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need clearly documented speed settings, precise control details, or a familiar established battery platform.
- Voltage:21 V
- Motor:Brushless
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Maximum torque:2,655 in-lb
- Maximum speed:1,400 rpm listed
- Batteries:2 × 4.0Ah
- Weight:3.62 lb
- Included accessories:Charger, 14 sockets, 10 screwdriver bits, carrying case, and manual
Our verdict“Pick this kit if included batteries and accessories matter more to you than clearly specified speed controls.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with 2 Batteries and Charger
For a DIYer who needs to drill holes as well as drive screws, the CRAFTSMAN V20 combo makes a more useful first purchase than a standalone impact driver. The kit pairs a drill/driver with an impact driver and supplies two batteries, a charger, and a storage bag, so it covers a wider range of household jobs than the Milwaukee 2953-20, which is a tool-only driver. The impact tool is listed at 1,460 in-lb and 2,800 rpm: a more modest fastening spec than Milwaukee’s 2,000 in-lb and 3,900 rpm, but adequate figures for a kit built around general DIY versatility. Both tools have LED work lights and contoured handles. The compromise is battery capacity: each included battery is listed at 2Ah, which may mean more frequent swaps during longer sessions. Choose another option if impact-driver power is your main priority.
Pros:- Includes both a drill/driver and an impact driver
- Two batteries and a charger are included
- LED work lights on both tools
- Compact, contoured handles suit tight work areas
Cons:- Included batteries are listed at 2Ah
- Impact driver’s listed 1,460 in-lb torque and 2,800 rpm are below the Milwaukee 2953-20 figures
Best for: New homeowners and DIY beginners who need both a drill/driver and an impact driver for repairs, furniture assembly, and general projects.
Not ideal for: DIYers focused on repeated heavy fastening or longer work sessions who want higher impact-driver output or larger-capacity batteries.
- Model:CMCK200C2
- Voltage:20 V
- Batteries:2 × 2Ah lithium-ion
- Drill/driver speeds:0–350 rpm and 0–1,500 rpm
- Drill/driver output:280 UWO
- Impact-driver torque:1,460 in-lb
- Impact-driver speed:2,800 rpm
- Impact rate:3,100 bpm
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the CRAFTSMAN combo if a drill and impact driver in one kit are more useful to your DIY work than maximum fastening output.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)
The DEWALT DCK240C2 is the compact two-tool alternative for DIYers who want a drill and impact driver for work in cramped spaces. The set includes a DCD771 drill/driver and DCF885 impact driver, plus two batteries, a charger, and a contractor bag. Both tools have LED work lights, and the impact driver’s 1/4-inch hex chuck supports one-handed bit loading. Against the CRAFTSMAN V20 combo, this DEWALT kit emphasizes a compact design and quick bit handling, while the CRAFTSMAN listing gives a higher impact-driver torque figure: 1,460 in-lb versus DEWALT’s listed 1,400 in-lb. The DEWALT battery capacity is also relatively modest at 1.3Ah per battery. Its impact torque figures vary across the supplied description, so I’d treat the stated output as a guide rather than a precise comparison.
Pros:- Includes a drill/driver, impact driver, two batteries, charger, and contractor bag
- Compact design suits tight or hard-to-reach spaces
- LED work lights include a 20-second delay
- Impact driver has a 1/4-inch hex chuck for one-handed bit loading
Cons:- Included batteries are listed at 1.3Ah each
- Supplied impact-driver torque figures differ
Best for: DIYers who need a compact drill-and-driver pair for furniture assembly, home repairs, and reaching into restricted work areas.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want longer battery capacity between swaps or a clearly consistent impact-torque specification.
- Model:DCK240C2
- Included tools:DCD771 drill/driver and DCF885 impact driver
- Voltage:20 V MAX
- Impact-driver torque:Up to 1,400 in-lb listed; description also gives a differing figure
- Drill/driver output:Up to 300 UWO
- Batteries:2 × 1.3Ah lithium-ion
- Included components:Charger and contractor bag
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the DEWALT combo if compact access and a complete two-tool set matter more than battery capacity or a consistent torque listing.”
GoYwato 21V Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit
This GoYwato combo stands out for putting brushless motors in both tools, while also including a drill, impact driver, two batteries, fast charger, bits, sockets, and a case. Its drill has a 3/8-inch keyless chuck, two speed ranges, and 21+1 torque settings; the impact driver uses a 1/4-inch hex chuck with two listed speed settings. That split makes it more versatile for drilling and fastening than the standalone GoYwato impact-driver kit, while the Milwaukee 2953-20 offers a shorter 4.47-inch body and four drive modes for those who want a more feature-specific driver. Here, the appeal is having a matched pair and accessories for home projects. The tradeoff is a 2.0Ah battery capacity and the impact driver’s hex chuck, which does not accept drill bits directly; use the included drill for drilling tasks.
Pros:- Brushless motors in both tools
- Includes two 2.0Ah batteries and a fast charger
- Drill and impact driver have task-specific chuck designs
- Includes sockets, driver bits, drill bits, and a carrying case
Cons:- Impact driver’s 1/4-inch hex chuck does not accept drill bits directly
- The included batteries are 2.0Ah each
Best for: DIYers who want a brushless drill and impact driver together, with basic batteries and accessories for a range of home projects.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a standalone impact driver for heavy, sustained fastening or want the impact tool itself to accept drill bits.
- Voltage:21 V
- Drill chuck:3/8-inch keyless
- Drill torque:Up to 531 in-lb
- Drill speed:0–350 rpm and 0–1,500 rpm
- Impact-driver chuck:1/4-inch hex quick-release
- Impact-driver torque:Up to 2,655 in-lb
- Impact-driver speed:2,000 rpm and 2,500 rpm
- Batteries:2 × 2.0Ah
- Charging time:1–1.5 hours
Our verdict“Choose this kit if you want brushless tools for both drilling and fastening, and can work within the included 2.0Ah battery capacity.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-Speed Impact Driver, Tool Only (DCF845B)
The DCF845B suits DIYers who regularly drive long or large-diameter screws and want more control than a single-speed tool offers. Its 1,825 in-lbs of torque is the highest stated figure among these three picks, while three speed settings and a variable-speed trigger help moderate power for smaller fasteners. Compared with the CRAFTSMAN V20 CMCF801D1, it offers a higher listed top speed and a three-LED work light, but arrives without a battery or charger. That tool-only format is practical if you already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries; for a first cordless tool, the CRAFTSMAN kit is the more ready-to-work choice. Its compact listed dimensions and belt hook also suit room-to-room projects, though the bare-tool purchase means added setup for buyers outside the DEWALT system.
Pros:- Highest stated torque of these three products at 1,825 in-lbs.
- Three speed settings plus a variable-speed trigger support more controlled fastening.
- Three-LED work light helps illuminate the fastener and work area.
- Compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX batteries.
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included.
- Its power and speed controls may be more than light-duty assembly tasks require.
Best for: DIYers already using DEWALT 20V MAX batteries who need controlled power for deck screws, framing repairs, or other demanding fastening jobs.
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers who need a battery and charger included, or occasional users who do not need this much driving power.
- Motor:Brushless
- Voltage:20V
- Maximum torque:1,825 in-lbs
- Maximum speed:3,400 RPM
- Speed settings:3
- Chuck:1/4-inch
- Battery compatibility:DEWALT 20V MAX batteries
- Included:Impact driver only; battery and charger sold separately
Our verdict“Choose the DCF845B if you already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and want strong, adjustable fastening power; choose the CRAFTSMAN kit if you need a complete setup.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit, 2 Ah Battery, Charger and PH2 Bit (CMCF801D1)
For a DIYer starting without compatible batteries, the CMCF801D1 has a useful advantage over the DEWALT DCF845B: it includes a 2 Ah battery, charger, and PH2 bit, so the basic kit is ready for common fastening jobs. Its stated 1,800 in-lbs of torque is close to the DEWALT’s 1,825 in-lbs, making it a capable match for household repairs and furniture assembly rather than a major step down in listed torque. The tradeoff is a lower maximum speed of 2,900 RPM and less detail about selectable speed settings than the DEWALT’s three-speed design. A quick-release chuck and onboard LED add convenience during bit changes and dim work. The listed 4.1-pound weight may feel substantial for overhead work, and VERSATRACK clips are separate.
Pros:- Includes a 2 Ah lithium-ion battery, charger, and PH2 bit.
- Listed torque of 1,800 in-lbs is close to the DEWALT DCF845B.
- Quick-release chuck makes bit changes straightforward.
- Onboard LED helps with fastening in dim areas.
Cons:- Maximum listed speed of 2,900 RPM is below the DEWALT DCF845B’s 3,400 RPM.
- Listed weight is 4.1 lbs.
- VERSATRACK clips and accessories are sold separately.
Best for: DIY beginners who want an impact driver, battery, charger, and starter bit in one kit for household repairs and assembly.
Not ideal for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners seeking a bare tool to share batteries, or users prioritizing a lower listed tool weight for extended overhead fastening.
- Motor:Not specified
- Voltage:20V
- Battery:2 Ah lithium-ion
- Maximum torque:1,800 in-lbs
- Maximum speed:2,900 RPM
- Chuck:Quick-release; product listing specifies maximum chuck size of 0.5 inches
- Weight:4.1 lbs
- Included:Impact driver, battery, charger, PH2 bit
Our verdict“Pick this CRAFTSMAN kit for a practical first impact driver with the essentials included, but choose the DEWALT DCF845B if you already have DEWALT batteries and want three speed settings.”
16.8V Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with Two Batteries
This combo is the best fit of the three for a DIYer who needs to drill holes as well as drive screws: it pairs a 3/8-inch drill with a 1/4-inch impact driver, plus two batteries, a charger, bits, sockets, and a case. That breadth makes it a more complete starter setup than the single-driver CRAFTSMAN CMCF801D1, though the CRAFTSMAN includes a battery and charger in a simpler, more focused kit. The combo lists brushless motors and multiple speed settings for both tools, giving users flexibility across assembly, repair, and general home projects. Its impact driver is rated at 105 ft-lb, but that figure uses a different unit from the in-lb ratings listed for the DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN, so direct torque ranking is not useful here. Two 2.0Ah batteries keep a spare ready, though their capacity is modest, and no warranty duration is provided.
Pros:- Includes both a drill and a 1/4-inch impact driver.
- Two 2.0Ah batteries and a charger are included.
- Brushless motors and multiple speed settings are listed for the tools.
- Storage case, screwdriver bits, and hex sockets help keep a starter setup together.
Cons:- Each included battery has a 2.0Ah capacity.
- No warranty duration is specified in the product details.
- The impact driver’s torque figure is in ft-lb, unlike the in-lb figures listed for the DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN options.
Best for: New DIYers who need both a drill and an impact driver for furniture assembly, basic repairs, and varied home projects.
Not ideal for: Buyers who already own a drill and only need a standalone impact driver, or those who want a stated warranty duration and larger-capacity batteries.
- Voltage:16.8V
- Motor:Brushless
- Drill chuck:3/8-inch
- Drill maximum torque:400 in-lb
- Impact driver chuck:1/4-inch
- Impact driver torque:105 ft-lb
- Impact driver speed settings:1,230 / 2,750 / 3,450 RPM
- Batteries:Two 2.0Ah lithium-ion batteries
- Included accessories:Charger, screwdriver bits, hex sockets, hard-shell storage case
Our verdict“Choose this combo when you need a drill and impact driver together; the CRAFTSMAN CMCF801D1 is a more focused option if you only need an impact driver.”

How We Picked
I ranked these options for typical DIY jobs: assembling furniture, driving deck or framing screws, making repairs, and completing occasional home projects. I looked at the practical balance of driving capability, control features, size, included batteries and charger, and whether the purchase covers one job or adds a drill for broader use. Where the supplied information names a feature—such as brushless construction, multiple speeds, or a battery included—I treated it as a potential buyer benefit, not proof of superior real-world performance.
The order favors useful, ready-to-go setups and clear value for a home workshop over maximum specifications alone. Tool-only models rank lower for a first-time buyer because a compatible battery and charger are extra requirements, but can be smart choices for owners of that platform. Combo kits earn consideration for versatility, though they are not automatically better if a buyer only needs fastening. Similar GoYwato listings are kept distinct, but their shared branding means buyers should compare the exact kit contents and model details before ordering.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Cordless Impact Drivers For DIY
For DIY, the right impact driver is less about chasing the biggest torque figure and more about matching the tool to your projects, battery system, and comfort level. I’d settle those choices before comparing individual model names.
Choose the Tool Setup Before Comparing Specs
An impact driver handles fasteners; it is not a substitute for a drill when you need to bore clean holes or use many drill bits. If you do both tasks around the house, a combo kit can reduce the chance of reaching for the wrong tool and avoids buying two separate kits. If you already own a capable drill, a standalone impact driver may be the tidier choice. A common mistake is buying a combo based on the number of tools, then finding one spends most of its time unused. Match the bundle to a project list rather than assuming more tools always mean better value.
Check Battery Compatibility and Kit Contents
Battery platform compatibility can shape the long-term cost and convenience of a DIY setup. A tool-only listing can be a sensible addition if you already have matching batteries and a charger, but it is an incomplete purchase for a new user. Confirm whether the listing includes a battery, charger, and carrying case rather than relying on the word “kit” alone. Battery capacity also affects how long you can work between charges and how much weight sits in your hand. Avoid buying into a platform solely for one tool if you expect to add equipment; consider what other compatible tools you may actually use.
Treat Torque Claims as One Part of Performance
Torque figures do not tell the whole story about how comfortable a driver is for household work. For smaller screws and delicate materials, trigger control and speed settings can help prevent stripped heads, damaged surfaces, and overtightening. Higher output can be useful for long or stubborn fasteners, but it does not remove the need to choose the right bit and work carefully. Beginners often focus on the largest number and overlook whether they can control the tool at low speed. When listings give different kinds of performance information, compare like with like and favor usable control over a headline claim.
Balance Compactness, Weight, and Project Duration
Size matters when access is tight, such as inside cabinets, between studs, or overhead. A smaller tool can be easier to position, while a larger battery may extend work time but add weight and bulk. DIY jobs are often short, so the lightest possible setup may not be worth sacrificing other features; longer fence or deck projects make battery endurance more relevant. Think about where you will use the driver, not just where you will store it. If you often work above shoulder height, prioritize a manageable tool-and-battery combination over an impressive spec sheet.
Decide Whether Brushless or Extra Speeds Matter to You
Brushless motors and multiple speed settings can be useful, but their value depends on how often you use the tool and the tasks you tackle. A brushless option may appeal to someone planning frequent or demanding work, while an occasional furniture assembly project may not justify paying for features the buyer rarely uses. Multiple speeds give more ways to adapt output, particularly when moving between delicate hardware and larger fasteners. Do not assume a feature label guarantees better control or longer runtime across every kit. Compare the complete package, including batteries, charger, warranty information, and platform, before paying extra for a feature name.
Buy for Your Actual Fasteners and Materials
Fastener type and work material influence the driver and bits you need. Short screws in softwood call for different handling from long structural screws in dense lumber, and a driver cannot compensate for a poorly fitting bit. Keep a range of quality bits on hand and use the correct bit style to reduce cam-out and damage. For delicate trim or small hardware, start gently and test on scrap material when possible. If your projects mainly involve drilling holes, prioritize a drill or combo kit rather than expecting an impact driver to do every job well.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy a tool-only impact driver if this will be my first cordless tool?
Usually, I would choose a kit that includes a compatible battery and charger. A tool-only purchase may appear straightforward, but it leaves you needing the right battery platform before you can use the driver. It makes more sense if you already own matching batteries and charging equipment from the same system. Check the exact model and platform compatibility, since similar-looking tools are not necessarily interchangeable. For a first cordless purchase, compare the total setup you need rather than the bare-tool listing alone.
Is a drill-and-impact-driver combo worth choosing for basic home projects?
A combo is worthwhile if your projects include both drilling holes and driving fasteners, such as shelving, repairs, and furniture assembly. A drill is better suited to making holes, while the impact driver is built for driving screws and other fasteners. If you already own a working drill, a standalone driver can avoid paying for a duplicate tool. Also check how many batteries the combo includes and whether they can be shared between both tools. Choose the bundle based on jobs you expect to do, not just the convenience of receiving two tools at once.
Do DIYers need a brushless impact driver?
Not every DIYer needs brushless construction. It may be more appealing if you use the tool often, take on longer jobs, or want to invest in a kit for regular workshop use. For occasional repairs, assembly, or small projects, a well-matched kit with a battery and charger can be a more useful priority. Compare the full package and controls rather than treating “brushless” as a guarantee of better results for every task. The GoYwato and AVID POWER listings advertise brushless designs, but buyers should still check the supplied kit details and platform fit.
Can an impact driver replace my cordless drill?
An impact driver can drive many screws and fasteners, but I would not treat it as a full drill replacement. Drilling clean holes calls for a drill and appropriate bits, while an impact driver’s action is intended for fastening. Using an impact driver for unsuitable drilling jobs can make the work harder to control and may damage a bit or material. If you need both capabilities, a combo kit such as the DEWALT DCK240C2 or one of the CRAFTSMAN or GoYwato bundles covers more ground. If your drill is already in good shape, adding a standalone driver is often the more focused purchase.
What should I check before choosing between similar GoYwato listings?
Compare the exact model name, color, tool configuration, and included accessories rather than assuming listings with the same brand name are identical. The roundup includes separate GoYwato impact-driver kits as well as a drill-and-driver combo, so the included tools differ. Check whether a battery and charger are included and confirm the stated voltage and brushless description on the specific listing. Similar titles can conceal different bundles, and kit contents matter if you do not already own compatible batteries. If the details do not clearly distinguish two listings, favor the one whose included items and support information are easiest to verify.
Conclusion
For most DIYers buying a standalone kit, my best overall pick is the DEWALT DCF787D1, with its ready-to-use format and familiar 20V platform. For best value, I’d compare the Litheli, GALAX PRO, and CRAFTSMAN CMCF801D1 by their exact battery, charger, and accessory contents rather than choosing on brand or title alone. The best premium-style choice for a buyer already invested in its battery system is the Milwaukee 2953-20; the DEWALT DCF845B is another option for someone seeking a more feature-focused bare tool. For beginners who need both drilling and fastening, the DEWALT DCK240C2 or CRAFTSMAN combo avoids starting with only half the tool setup. If your main need is a flexible single driver, choose a kit with the battery and charger you need; if you want one purchase for varied household jobs, pick a combo. In every case, verify the exact listing contents and battery compatibility before choosing.
















